Weaving with Ptolemy Mann

My weaving class was assigned a project to incorporate the dye styles of Ptolemy Mann into  a project. I did this scarf in 8/2 tencel using a commercially-dyed weft (shale) and a dyed warp.  The pattern is a broken twill done on a 4-harness loom.

IMG_4053

IMG_4055

I’ve also been working on some projects on my home looms.  Some plain weave towels (4-harness, cottolin)–not very exciting, but after weaving for 10 years, I’ve decided to go back to the basics.  I’m intrigued my the simplicity of Scandinavian weaving so am looking at that as my inspiration.

IMG_4056

 

 

 

I’ve also found it very pleasurable to make handwoven bookmarks using twill and overshot patterns.  I’m doing these on my 8-harness loom–although this one is a 4-harness pattern.

Leave a Reply

