How tedious the weaving life can be!

Yesterday, I had to add 800 heddles to the four harnesses I’m working with for my new project—a ruana.  I’m doing the ruana out of 8/2 tencel  dyed in a confetti pattern of tangerine, olive, and turquoise with outer and inner bands of shale.  When I started to thread the loom, I found I was missing 800 of the 1100+ heddles I would need.  (48 epi because it’s doubleweave.)  I then had to learn how to put the heddles on the harnesses.  Very simple, but I did it 1 x 1 to make sure none of them got crossed.  What a lesson in patience!

I’m now ready to start threading for this project—another exercise in tedium: plain weave, 1-2-3-4, 1-2-3-4, 1-2-3-4, 1-2-3-4, 1-2-3-4, 1-2-3-4, for all 1120 ends.  Woo-hoo.  What does tedium have to teach us?  Is it good for the soul?  I will escape a little by listening to an audiobook (The Twelth Enchantment by David Liss).  Would it be better for me to live with the tedium rather than escape it?  Patience is certainly a good virtue.

With all the tedium, why do I keep weaving?  And why have I been doing it for 10 years?  There must be something enjoyable about endlessly fiddling with yarn in repetitious tasks.  I’m just not sure what it is.

3 thoughts on “How tedious the weaving life can be!”

  1. LoL .. 800 heddles? 1120 ends? I’m just new to weaving myself, but I have already found that the set up with the heddle and the threading is the tedious part, and seems to take longer than the actual weaving. And maybe someday I’ll get to 800 heddles and 1120 ends … Enjoy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

